about%20-%20jpg.jpg reviews%20-%20jpg.jpg interviews%20-%20jpg.jpg gigs%20-%20jpg.jpg cd_review_intronaut_habituallevitations001006.jpg
Here is Intronaut's fourth album, 'Habitual Levitations', and what an exquisite exercise in naturally flowing musical experimentation it is. First off, the album has a very nice sounding production - there's just enough polish to make the tracks shine but this is balanced out with a degree of rawness and a 'live' feeling that accentuates the music's naturally progressive jam vibe. Jamming the band are evidently not, but the innovative way in which instruments play off each other and the way song structures twist and turn in an unpredictable yet naturally flowing manner, Intronaut's general aesthetic, and essence, is one that sounds like a bunch of congruous musicians in perfect unison, jamming out ideas with affective flair and euphonious results. Thus the multifarious time signatures, tempo changes, breaks etc. all sound very natural within the context of each song. Innovative drum fills appear where you'd least expect them - as such, Danny Walker's work behind the kit becomes more an integral part of the compositions rather than merely a rhythmic backbone to the instrumentations. Likewise, Joe Lester's bass playing is rather astounding - often prominent in the mix (a very good mix, by the way, where all instruments have perfect clarity), he alternates between carrying, creating and adding to the innovative melodies in each song and isn't afraid to veer from Walker's rhythms with some interesting runs. Sacha Dunable's and Dave Timnick's guitars are also heterogeneous in their varied styles and sounds to fit the songs' ever changing moods, as are their vocals. How they make such heterogeneity work, and make it sound so natural and accessible, is a major feat - these four men are mightily talented bastards! And despite all the jazzy breaks, passages of stoner rock, post-metal passages et al, Intronaut have managed to strike a masterful balance between their mixed-genre proclivities. There's no stilted genre-hopping here, rather a natural sounding fusion between the varying styles they've adopted. Sometimes discordant and cacophonic, other times more euphonic and melancholically haunting, 'Habitual Levitations' is a captivating listen throughout. A genuinely innovative record from a band of true musical innovators. This is music that's both good for the mind and good for the soul.
Century Media
Review by Mark Holmes
18th March 2013
1) Killing Birds with Stones
2) The Welding
3) Steps
4) Sore Sight for Eyes
5) Milk Leg
6) Harmonomicon
7) Eventual
8) Blood from a Stone
9) The Way Down
"...music that's both good for the mind and good for the soul."