about%20-%20jpg.jpg reviews%20-%20jpg.jpg interviews%20-%20jpg.jpg gigs%20-%20jpg.jpg cd_review_morglbl_teatimeforpunks001006.jpg
The randomly monikered Mörglbl (and band naming here was literally random, so don't look for any hidden meaning behind what is, in essence, gibberish) are back with album number six for another outing flavoured with instrumental metal, jazz, grooves, virtuosity and batty humour. The French trio, led by fretboard maestro Christophe Godin and also featuring bassist Ivan Rougny and drummer Aurélien Ouzoulias, have always been critically lauded for their crazily fun live shows (I had the utter pleasure of witnessing them in action over in the Netherlands some eight years ago), and I've said this before - this is the best way to digest the music of Mörglbl. It contextualises the craziness and emphasises/adds to songs' batty inherence. The trio's infectious brand of humour is still present in just a sonic form, although recorded Mörglbl becomes a different experience; one where the primary focus is intrinsically centred around the music itself and its rather flawless execution, instead of any kind of overtly comedic layer.

That said, the humour still materialises in a peripheral sense, mainly through the cover art and some crazy track titles. Seemingly pastiching seventies British punk culture through the aesthetic conveyed on a thoroughly deranged cover, that sees band members depicted as various incarntaions of Queen Elizabeth II, and Godin inexplicably holding a spade (?!!), before even listening to a bar of music, it's precursory reassurance that Mörglbl's mad humour is well and truly intact. Track titles such as 'Far Tea Time' and 'God Shaved the Queen' consolidate such. Musically, despite the general aesthetic of 'Tea Time for Pünks', punk doesn't feature in the music... at least not in any explicitly obvious manner, unless a discordant vocalisation of part of The Beatles' 'Yellow Submarine' at the start of the title track counts. Distorted chimes of Big Ben, overlaid with crowd chatter, precede the banjo intro to a humorously titled opening track, 'Banjovi', and we're off... the floodgates are open for a barrage of sonic derangements and virtuosically executed arrangements.

Reassuringly, 'Tea Time for Pünks' largely adheres to the same stylistic fusion for what Mörglbl have become associated and loved for. As such, this will undoubtedly transpire to be a fan pleasing record, rather than one of surprises. Solid musicianship from all three men prevails throughout, notably from Godin who I rate as one of the best guitarists currently out there. And he's still at the top of his game on 'Tea Time for Pünks', conveying, as he does, a fine balance of emotional flair, melodic sensibilities, and technical ability... his guitar 'speaks' in so many different ways, which is vital for the success of an instrumental album of this nature. And 'Tea Time for Pünks' is another resounding success for Mörglbl.
Free Electric Sound
Review by Mark Holmes
15th June 2012
1) Banjovi
2) Rood
3) Tea Time for Pünks
4) Chinese Buffet
5) Mariachi's Burger
6) Untoon That Geetar
7) Far Tea Time
8) Tree Ball
9) God Shaved the Queen
10) Atomic Tom Mohawk
11) Big Ben Shaved the Quen Interlude
"...a barrage of sonic derangements and virtuosically executed arrangements."