about%20-%20jpg.jpg reviews%20-%20jpg.jpg interviews%20-%20jpg.jpg gigs%20-%20jpg.jpg cd_review_neonfly_strangersinparadise001006.jpg
Every year I get to December and think, "wow, we've had some great releases this year, this cannot keep happening", and every year I'm wrong. 2014 has been no different; in fact, I think this is one of the strongest years I can remember for brilliant albums and Neonfly have added to that exceptional list with their second album, 'Strangers In Paradise'. They might be an unfamiliar name to some but considering they have already earned some major stripes supporting the likes of Magnum, Alice Cooper, Dragonforce, Sonata Arctica, Pagan's Mind, H.E.A.T and Freedom Call, quite clearly shows that some major heads are being turned by their music. That list of names also proves that Neonfly's sound can cross rock and metal genres with ease.

'Strangers In Paradise’ is, quite simply, ten tracks of utter perfection that flirt the line between power and melodic metal superbly. Reminiscent of Sonata Arctica, Pretty Maids and maybe Kamelot in places, they can sure be a powerful band. Check out opener 'Whispered Dreams' (which, by the way, includes at least four monster riffs and breaks) or 'Chasing The Night' which matches Dragonforce during the solo, but also mix it up wonderfully and could easily impress fans of Styx, Kansas and Boston etc by containing two of the best ballads I've heard in a very long time - 'Rose In Bloom' and 'Falling Star'. Everything works. Each riff, chorus, melody, chorus, backing vocal, drum beat (I could go on) is just in exactly the right place, at least for my brain!

Vocalist Willy Norton has an incredible range and quality to his voice. So many bands are let down by a weak vocalist thinking they can hit every note in every key and fail miserably. Mr Norton has no such worry, he nails everything and, by all accounts, is just as good live. Drummer Boris Le Gal (The Algorithm, Periphery and just about every genre of music you can think of) is on outstanding form throughout. Both guitarists, founding member Frederick Thunder and Patrick Harrington lay down the riffs and stunning solos like their lives depend on it and everyone is more than ably backed up by bassist Paul Miller who is well represented in the mix. There are also some fantastic backing vocals from Alessio Garavello (ex-Power Quest) and Renée Walker. Oh, just in case you were wondering, the whole album sounds amazing and that's probably due to the fact it was produced by Dennis Ward (no introduction needed!)

I really don't know what else to say about this, I just implore every fan of rock and metal music, who love great talent and even greater songs, to go and get a copy because 'Strangers In Paradise' is a no brainer and it goes without saying that this gets a 10 on the 'Rickter Scale'!
Inner Wound
Review by Rick Tilley
1st Dec 2014
1) Whispered Dreams
2) Highways to Nowhere
3) Better Angels
4) Rose in Bloom
5) Heart of the Sun
6) Aztec Gold
7) Fierce Battalions
8) Sons of Liberty
9) Chasing the Night
10) Falling Star
"'Strangers In Paradise’ is, quite simply, ten tracks of utter perfection that flirt the line between power and melodic metal superbly."